Race, ResultsGordon Watt

Lapierre SCX Series Roundup - the story so far.

Race, ResultsGordon Watt
Lapierre SCX Series Roundup - the story so far.

With two rounds now complete, the season-long narrative of the Lapierre SCX Series is starting to take shape. Wildy varying conditions at the two races, differences in early season form and riders dipping in and out of events due to commitments elsewhere has led to only one of the eleven Series Categories having a repeat winner.

Photo: Barry Primrose
Words: Gordon Watt


Alfie Atherton (Edinburgh RC) took the victory at Irvine over Calendar Park winner Ben McMullen (Sprockets Cycles Bike Shop RT), so it’s all square between these two at the top of the table. Consistent riding from Archie Ellen (Edinburgh RC) and Cole Nicholson (Hoddom Velo) see them placed third and fourth respectively.

A strong win at Irvine to back up her second at Callendar Park sees Emily Carrick-Anderson (Peebles CC) at the head of the U14 Female Series, ahead of Imani Pereira-James (East Kilbride Road Club) who finished third at Irvine behind Eilidh Shaw (Stirling Bike Club).


It’s another Peebles CC rider, Elena McGorum, sitting at the top of the U16 Female Series, nine points ahead of Sophie Paterson (Glasgow Riderz). Kirsty Hay (East Kilbride Road Club) and Abbie Mason (West Lothian Clarion) sit tied for third, while Katherine Macleod (Edinburgh RC) must be ruing her DNF at Callendar Park after finishing third at Irvine.

In the U16 Male Series, a win at Irvine sees Corran Carrick-Anderson (Peebles CC) building a commanding lead, with 20 points now separating him from Alexander Ball (West Lothian Clarion CC). Aaron King (Speedflex Race Team) sits third in the Series.


Cameron Mason was on National Trophy duties at Derby, and Charlie Aldridge was racing at the Comrie MTB race, so it was up to Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutique rider Charlie Johnston take the top step at Irvine. This win gives him the lead in the Junior Male Series standings, ahead of the Synergy Cycles duo of Robbie Hearns and Craig Dobbins.

The return of Anna McGorum (Peebles CC) and Ishbel Strathdee (Edinburgh RC) (1st and 2nd at Irvine respectively) wasn’t enough to unseat Anna Shackley (Glasgow Riderz) front the top of the Junior Female table. Only 9 points separate the top three in the Series; Edinburgh Road Club’s Estelle Fuller trails Anna by only three points, with Ellie Park (Team 22) close behind in third.


A win from last year’s Series victor Brenda Callander (Stirling Bike Club) from Sian Tovey (www.Dooleys-Cycles.co.uk) saw a very different Vet Women’s podium to that at Callendar Park. The winner in Falkirk, Caroline Harvey still leads the Series from Lindsay Branston (RC Cumbernauld & Kilsyth) and Elizabeth Clayton (Stirling Bike Club), but this could be one of the tightest battles of the season.

In contrast, Murray Swanson (Pedal Power RT) looks unstoppable in the Mens V50+ Category. The Californian repeated his Callendar Park win to maintain his top spot, above James Melville (Glasgow United CC) and Kenny Kentley (Velocity 44). Ominously, Swanson also finished 8th in the Senior Open at Irvine…

Gary McCrae (Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutique) was made to work hard for his V40–49 win on Sunday, with battling rides from Malcolm Bain (Granite City RT) and Graeme Cross (SR Albannach). In the end, McCrae took it from Warren Barton, with Bain in third. In the Series table, Cross drops to second after his win in Falkirk, with Bain holding on to third overall.


Jane Barr (Velocity 44) took the win at Irvine after her second at Callendar Park. Despite a less than perfect pre-race buildup, Eileen Roe (Team WNT) was able to hang on for second place at Irvine, leaving Barr and Roe tied on 145 points each at the top of the Senior F table. Joanne Thom (Sandy Wallace Cycles) finished in third for the second week in a row, establishing her third place in the Series.

Despite a commanding return to Irvine by former Scottish CX Champ (and CST American Eagle MTB pro) Grant Ferguson to take the win, the absence of Falkirk winner Iain Paton (Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutique) means that there’s no change in the top slots on the Series table, with David Duggan (Devinci/Freeborn) still tied with Gary MacDonald (Nevis Cycles Racing Team) - John Mackenzie (SR Albannach) rounds out the top three.

Full Results and League Standings

More photos by Barry Primrose