Scottish Cyclocross Association



AGM Minutes Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome 28th April 2019 1.Apologies and Attendees Apologies - Davie Graham, Stuart Green

Present - Jim (Jammie) Johnston, Jac Marquis, Colin Chisholm, James Melville, Howard Perkins, Gordon Bathgate, Morven Brown, Barry McCleery and Graeme Warren.

Chairs report. Jammie said the racing was great as usual but he felt the season had stretched out too long and the series lost momentum after Christmas. Also first aid may become a problem financially next year as the rules become more strict. Jammie announced that he is standing down as Chair. He thanked everyone and said he enjoyed it over the years but it was time to step back a bit.

Jac's report. Keypoints - split season did not work. The change of race calendar to accommodate separate women's races didn't work. Races after Christmas had vastly reduced numbers of riders. Need to look again at the splitting of categories of races with organisers. Need to get back momentum.

Accounts - There was a loss of over £800 for the series. Reduced number riders meaning less revenue from levies, subsidising timing for organisers and subsidising the race at Knockburn were all factors.

Very happy with timing package at present but the contract is up next year and will be reviewed then. Scottish Cycling offered the use of their system for free but would require volunteers to use it. Merchandising will be looked into again. As will sponsorship.

It was proposed that as organisers are struggling to break even at events that the committee could find a way to acquire a prize fund from entries and give overall prizes at the end of the season rather than organisers trying to fund cash prizes on the race day. Organisers could still give out prizes from sponsors etc. This will need to be discussed and agreed with organisers.

Election of committee -

Resignations - Jammie (as Chairman)

Paul Zarb - Secretary

Eliza Smith, Jim Cameron and Euan Lindsay.

New -

Davie Graham - Chairman

Stuart Green - Secretary

Jammie - Hon. President

Colin Chisolm - SC Liaison

Jac Marquis - Finances

Howard Perkins, Andrew Strathdee, Graeme Warren, Paul Davies and James Melville - Ordinary Members.

2018 Series winners - Female -

Senior - Eileen Roe - Dooleys Cycles

Junior - Ishbel Strathdee - Edinburgh RC

Vet 40-49 Helen Gorman - Stirling Bike Club

Vet 50-59 Brenda Callendar - Stirling Bike Club

Vet 60+ - Jane Sargent

Youth U16 - Eilidh Shaw - Stirling Bike Club

Youth U14 - Rudie Shearer - Edinburgh RC

2018 Series winners - Male -

Senior - Gary MacDonald - Nevis Cycles Racing Team

Junior - Harry McGarvie - Ayr Burners CC

Vet 40-49 - Chris Buchan -

Vet 50-59 - Brendan Roe - Dunfermline CC

Vet 60+ - Graham Brown - Stirling Bike Club

Youth U16 - Alexander MacLeod Grampian Tigers

Youth U 14 - Elliot Rowe - Deeside Thistle CC

Trophies -

Senior women's trophy still not found and none of the other trophies handed in from last year (apart from V50 women possibly?).

Scottish Cycling handed out trophies and this may have caused some confusion?

Talk of handing out National Champs to series leaders although it is cost prohibitive.